OTC MARKET NEWS Powered By Quantifi

CFTC exempts Canada’s big-five banks from risk reporting 

June 3, 2014
Andrew Saks McLeod, Leaprate

Whilst extensive measures have been taken over the last few years to adopt a highly conservative approach toward reporting of trades and risk by swap dealers in the United States, five of Canada’s banks have been issued with a time-limited no-action letter that provides relief to each of the institutions in the northern dominion that are registered with the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC )as swap dealers.

The five Canadian banks covered by the no-action letter are: the Bank of Montreal, the Bank of Nova Scotia, the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, the Royal Bank of Canada, and the Toronto Dominion Bank.

The letter provides no-action relief with respect to the requirement that swap dealers furnish risk exposure reports on a quarterly basis, as mandated by Regulation 23.600.

In particular, the letter provides time-limited no-action relief covering the quarterly risk exposure reports for any fiscal quarter ending on or before July 31, 2014. Accordingly, the five Canadian banks covered by the letter will be required to provide their first quarterly risk reports to the CFTC for the fiscal quarter ending on October 31, 2014.

Read more: Leaprate

Comments are closed on this post.


Submit your email to receive our newsletter